Switch to ADA Accessible Theme Close Menu
Macon Personal Injury Attorneys
Free Confidential Consultations 478-217-2072
Macon Personal Injury Attorneys > Blog > Workers' Compensation > Common Questions About Georgia Workers’ Compensation

Common Questions About Georgia Workers’ Compensation


None of us go to work with the expectation of sustaining a serious injury, but workplace injuries do happen with some frequency. In some cases, workplace injuries are relatively minor and injured employees can get back to work quickly with little to no medical attention from a health care provider. Yet in other situations, injured workers require extensive medical care and may need to miss weeks, months, or more due to their work-related disability. In the aftermath of a workplace injury, it can be difficult to know what you need to do in order to be eligible for workers’ compensation coverage and what kind of benefits you might be able to receive. The following are some of the most commonly asked questions about Georgia workers’ compensation, along with answers from our Macon workers’ compensation lawyers.

Q: How Much Time Do I Have to Report a Work Injury? 

A: Ideally, a work injury should be reported to your employer (or your supervisor, or manager, or anyone in a supervisory role with regard to your position) as soon as possible. You must report your injury within 30 days from the date the injury occurred.

Q: Can I Receive Workers’ Compensation If I Have Only Been Employed for a Short Time? 

A: There is no required amount of time that you must work in order to be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits in Georgia. You can even receive workers’ compensation benefits if your injury occurs on the first day of your employment. As soon as you begin working, you are covered.

Q: Can I Choose My Own Doctor? 

A: You can only choose from among the providers listed on the Traditional Panel of Physicians supplied by your employer. Your employer must list at least six doctors and may list more for you to choose from. If you want to change doctors to a different provider on the list, you can do so once without having to obtain permission to do so.

Q: What Benefits Am I Eligible to Receive? 

A: Benefits will be based on the injured employee’s particular circumstances, but in general, you may be eligible to have your medical care (related to your work injury) fully covered, two-thirds of your average weekly wage as a payment (up to $800 per week), and weekly benefits if you have suffered a permanent disability.

Q: What Should I Do If My Claim Was Denied? 

A: There are options to appeal a denied claim, and you should make sure to have an attorney to assist you with any appeal. The first stage of an appeal is a hearing where you will go before the State Board of Workers’ Compensation, and an Administrative Law Judge (or ALJ) will hear your appeal.

Contact a Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Macon, Georgia 

Were you injured on the job? Anyone who sustained a workplace injury could be eligible to obtain workers’ compensation benefits. It is important to get in touch with an experienced Macon workers’ compensation attorney at the Law Offices of Buzzell, Welsh & Hill. A lawyer at our firm can speak with you today about your workplace injury and can begin assisting you with your workers’ compensation claim.



Facebook Twitter LinkedIn