5 Common Myths About Workers’ Compensation in Georgia

5 Common Myths About Workers’ Compensation in Georgia

As of 2014, Employers and Insurers in the State of Georgia have paid over $100,000,000 in workers’ compensation benefits. Unfortunately for employees injured on the job, the workers’ compensation claim process can be very complicated and confusing. Unless you have an experienced attorney on your side, it’s tough to know if you’re correctly following the steps and getting all of the benefits you’re entitled to.

Below are five myths you should know about workers’ compensation, and what you can do to ensure you receive the compensation you deserve.

5 Workers’ Compensation Myths…Exposed

Myth #1: I am suing my employer when I file for workers’ compensation.
That’s not the case. You actually file an administrative claim with the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation. Benefits are paid by an insurance company, which is represented by a group of lawyers. You should have one too.

Myth #2: I should be compensated for my pain and suffering.
In Georgia, you cannot be compensated for pain and suffering in a workers’ compensation case.  Workers’ comp benefits may include wage replacement, medical treatment, rehabilitation expenses, and disability compensation for permanent impairment.

Myth #3: I’ve only been an employee for a week, so I can’t receive workers’ compensation benefits.
The minute you start working, you are covered by workers’ compensation in Georgia. Even if you are injured on your first day of work, you have the right to file a workers’ compensation claim.

Myth #4: I have to see the company doctor.
Your company can’t require you to see a specific doctor. Companies must publish a list of authorized doctors covered by insurance, and you can choose any doctor from that list for your initial treatment. You can also make one free switch among the authorized physicians, and be evaluated one time by any doctor of your choosing.

Myth #5: My employer can’t fire me while I’m recovering from an injury.
Unfortunately, your employer has the right to let you go if you can’t work, but often times, this situation can be used to strengthen your case in the hands of the best lawyer.

Don’t Get Caught Off Guard

Hire an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer from Buzzell, Welsh & Hill to protect your legal rights. You deserve to be compensated for your lost or reduced wages, medical bills, and other costs associated with your injury or illness.

We offer a free consultation to show you how we can help you with your claim. There are absolutely no fees unless we collect on your behalf.

Contact the Macon Workers’ Compensation Attorneys at Buzzell, Welsh & Hill to Handle Your Workers’ Compensation Claim

Stay protected with the workers’ compensation attorneys at Buzzell, Welsh & Hill. With over 90 years of combined experience in every area of personal injury law, we’re here to help you with your workers’ compensation case and get you the money you deserve.

To schedule a free consultation, call us at (478) 217-2072 or complete our contact form.

Call Now Button